Match Day 2013: Dreams Do Come True

(Match Day: every year, medical students across the country will open an envelope on 3/15 to find out where they will go for the next 4-10 years of their training in their chosen specialties. The hospital and student preferences/selections are determined by a computer algorithm after 3-4 months of grueling cross the country interviews for desired candidacy.)

Match Day!

Match Day!

26 years ago, my mom loved me enough to leave me in China with my amazing and loving grandparents. She came to America alone to pursue an education and a future for me. She wanted to bring me to a place where any of my dreams can have a chance. I came to America 9 years later.

In 7th grade, Mr.Honda had a farm of chickens, rabbits (with countless bunnies), and a classroom iguana. I fell in love with biology the day he made us plant vegetable gardens on the back alley of Paul Revere Middle School. I touched a giant potato bug, screamed and almost threw up (please google potato bug).

At 13, I remember calling 911 and a random lady drove by and stopped to hug me while I panicked in front of my house. Later that night, I stood in the corner and watched some Kaiser critical care doctors save and stabilize my grandma. My prayers for more time with her were answered. I thought it would be “cool” if I became a Kaiser doctor one day.

At 17, I was jumping with my little sister on my bed after opening my UCLA acceptance e-mail, I was going to my dream college.

On my 19th birthday, I listened when Annie told me that my best friend and roomie, Karen, passed away from cardiac arrest, 4 hrs after I told her no one dies from coughing, 8 hrs after watching her laugh over my bday dinner. Her mom came to clean up her room, and I will never forget the face of a mom who had just lost their child. In that place of guilt, and pain, I chose to become a doctor…selfishly hoping I will never be that helpless again.

4yrs ago, I was in Washington DC on my Georgetown interview when I received the call that I was accepted to my dream medical school UCSD.

On 3/15/2013, I opened an envelope on match day that realized a lifetime of little hopes and once impossibly long term dreams. I will be starting my life as an internal medicine resident physician at Kaiser Permanente.

Every doctor tells me I will never forget my match day. I thought of my amazing family who gave me the love, and support to pursue dreams that are often so out of anyone’s control, and so distant. My friends whose crazy shenanigans, and advice allowed me to survive the last 4 grueling years with sanity and fun. My incredible teachers who taught me to be passionate and perfectionist with my education.

And lastly, God, for giving me the beautiful and truly wonderfully blessed life that I do not deserve.

17 thoughts on “Match Day 2013: Dreams Do Come True

  1. PJ

    Congratulations on your match! I remember the day an internal medicine resident came into my hospital room and quietly discussed the risks of having more children. I’d just had a baby prematurely, and it didn’t look like I could do this again… at least not with some pretty substantial risk. She wasn’t very old, and she was one of about four doctors who came in over the next few days to discuss this exact topic, but I remember her because she took more time. She looked me straight in the face and she told me the truth with compassion. May your career be rewarding, and may your contact with your patients leave them grateful for all you’ve sacrificed to make your life about healing. ❤

    Reply
    1. mochabeanie Post author

      Thank you so much!!!!! I chose internal med cause I’ve seriously met some of the most humbling, compassionate, and human doctors there. I hope my pts can say the same during my career!

      Reply
  2. thegirlexplorer

    I’m so happy for you!!!

    Even though I barely know you, I can hear and feel how this day must have felt like the culmination of so many moments, so many dreams and, thrillingly, the start of many more.

    I wish you all the best! May this next part of the journey be everything you’ve ever dreamt it to be, and more.
    =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

